The list of Car Insurance Companies in the USA

With dozens of Car Insurance companies in the USA, it becomes a hassle to get to about the top companies which ensure better customer service and products. In this article, we found out the list of Car Insurance Companies of the USA and ranked them. This list includes the top 50 companies.

List of top 50 Car Insurance Companies

Rank Car Insurance Companies in the USA Headquarters Website
1 State Farm Bloomington, IL statefarm.com
2 Geico (Berkshire
Hathaway Inc.)
Omaha, NE geico.com
3 Progressive Mayfield, OH progressive.com
4 Allstate Corp. Northbrook, IL allstate.com
5 USAA San Antonio, TX usaa.com
6 Liberty Mutual Boston, MA libertymutual.com
7 Farmers
Insurance Group
Woodland Hills, CA farmers.com
8 Nationwide Columbus, OH nationwide.com
9 American
Family Insurance Group
Madison, WI amfam.com
10 Travelers Saint Paul, MN travelers.com
11 Auto Club Exchange
(AAA Insurance)
Costa Mesa, CA aaa.com
12 Erie Insurance Erie, PA www.erieinsurance.com
13 Kemper Chicago, IL kemper.com
14 National General Holdings Corp New York, NY nationalgeneral.com
15 CSAA Insurance
Exchange
Walnut Creek, CA csaa-insurance.aaa.com
16 Auto-Owners
Insurance
Lansing, MI auto-owners.com
17 Mercury Insurance Los Angeles, CA mercuryinsurance.com
18 MetLife New York, NY metlife.com
19 The
Hartford
Hartford, CT thehartford.com
20 Auto Club Insurance Association Dearborn, MI aaa.com
21 Amica Lincoln, RI amica.com
22 The Hanover
Insurance Group
Worcester, MA hanover.com
23 COUNTRY Financial Bloomington, IL countryfinancial.com
24 NJM Insurance West Trenton, NJ njm.com
25 Southern Farm Bureau Casualty Ridgeland, MS sfbcic.com
26 Sentry Stevens Point, WI sentry.com
27 Shelter
Insurance
Columbia, MO shelterinsurance.com
28 Alfa Mutual Group Montgomery, AL alfainsurance.com
29 Ameriprise
Financial
Minneapolis, MN ameriprise.com
30 Chubb Whitehouse Station, NJ chubb.com
31 Texas Farm Bureau Insurance Waco, TX txfb-ins.com
32 Tennessee Farmers Insurance Cos. Columbia, TN www.fbitn.com
33 Plymouth Rock of New Jersey Red Bank, NJ plymouthrock.com
34 The Cincinnati Insurance Cos. Fairfield, OH cinfin.com
35 North Carolina Farm Bureau
Insurance
Raleigh, NC ncfbins.com
36 Kentucky Farm Bureau Louisville, KY kyfb.com
37 State Auto Columbus, OH stateauto.com
38 Consumers County Mutual
Insurance Co.
Dallas, TX Now
an underwriter for Texas customers of American Modern Insurance
39 Grange Insurance Columbus, OH grangeinsurance.com
40 American National Galveston, TX americannational.com
41 Loya Insurance El Paso, TX fredloya.com
42 Farm Bureau Financial Services West Des Moines, IA fbfs.com
43 Safety Insurance Boston, MA safetyinsurance.com
44 Wawanesa General Insurance Co. San Diego, CA wawanesa.com
45 Horace Mann Springfield, IL horacemann.com
46 Markel Glen Allen, VA markelinsurance.com
47 Michigan Farm Bureau Lansing, MI farmbureauinsurance-mi.com
48 Plymouth Rock Co. Boston, MA plymouthrock.com
49 Home State Insurance Group Waco, TX equityins.net
50 American Access Casualty Co. Downers Grove, IL aains.com

Top 10 largest Car Insurance Companies

The US market includes the hundreds of car insurance companies but 72% of the market is under the control of top 10 companies. As per the data collected in 2019, we listed out the largest companies with their premiums written and market shares.

Rank Car Insurance Companies Premiums Written ($billion) Market Share
1 State Farm $41.8 18%
2 GEICO $29.6 13%
3 Progressive $22.8 10%
4 Allstate $21.4 9%
5 USAA $13.2 6%
6 Liberty Mutual $11.6 5%
7 Farmers $10.4 4%
8 Nationwide $7.3 3%
9 Travelers $4.4 2%
10 American Family $4.4 2%

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.